First SAF Winter Games 2011 in Dehradun.

The 1st South Asian Winter Games was held in Dehradun and Auli, in the himalayan state of Uttarakhand, India in January 2011. The games are being conducted by the Indian Olympic Association and the Winter Games Federation of India.



South Asian Games (SAF Games or SAG & formerly known as South Asian Federation Games also known as SA games) are a bi-annual multi-sport event held among the athletes from South Asia. The governing body of these games is South Asian Sports Council (SASC), formed in 1983.


At resent there are eight members namely Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka. The association was formed in 1982 in New Delhi, India , headed by Rajiv Gandhi. The first South Asian Games were hosted by Kathmandu, Nepal in 1983.



First SAF Winter Games was inaugurated on 10 Jan 2011 at Dehradun's Maharana Pratap Sports Complex by Union Sports Minister Mr. MS Gill. The opening ceremony was followed by several folk dance performances and eventful power packed performance by Sufi singer Kailash Kher.
300 participants from India and rest Six South Asian countries including Bhutan, Nepal, Maldives, Pakistan and Sri Lanka are participating.